DIY FLOWER ARRANGEMENTS

I’ve mentioned my small obsession with fresh flowers before. Part of the reason I am so obsessed with them is because you can create something so beautiful for such a low cost. I love creating the arrangement just as much as I love looking at it day after day after day. I am no florist but I do enjoy creating. So, today, I thought I would share with you some very simple tips I always use to make a budget-friendly, DIY flower arrangement.

1.  To start, I always select three main pieces. Greenery, a main flower, and a filler (either a small flower or additional greenery). I love to buy these wholesale and usually grab about 3-5 stems of each. Sometimes I will grab a wider variety of florals or greenery, just depending on what look I am going for and what’s on sale. Some of my favorite chain stores to buy bunches of flowers from are Trader Joe’s, Harris Teeter, and Costco. 

NOTE: Eucalyptus is my favorite greenery right now. Lavender, Limonium, Baby’s Breath, Aster, or even cat tails make for great filler. The main florals I use vary by season but some of my current favorites are hydrangeas, roses, gladiolas, and delphiniums.

2. Cut at least an inch off the bottom of each stem, cutting the end at a sharp angle. Remove all greenery from the stem at least 8″ up the stems.

3. Begin arranging by adding in your greenery first. Loosely arrange it into the shape you are looking for. You want your arrangement to build up from the sides up into the middle so cut lengths accordingly, always cutting to a sharp, angled edge. The trick is to loosely get your shape. You are not looking for perfection. I usually just plop it all in and pull, tug, and snip stems here and there to get an overall even shape.


4. Add in the filler flowers or extra greenery to fill in the blank spaces and add a little more height to the arrangement.


5. Lastly, add in your main flower(s). I add these in so they stick just slightly further out than the greenery. I may pull a bit at the filler flowers/greenery to help them fill in around the main flowers a bit and create volume and even more height to my arrangement. Try to evenly disperse the main flower without being too uniform.


Here is an example of an arrangement that is heavy on flowers. The florals and greenery to make this whole arrangement cost me $15 at Trader Joe’s! 



What do you think? Any tried and true tricks you always use for your arrangements? Let me know in the comments below. If you haven’t already then please subscribe to get updates on all my latest money-saving tips and DIY ideas. If you like this post, then please give it a like so I know to do more like this one.

Have an idea for a post you’d like to see? Drop me a comment in the comment section below. I’d love suggestions from you!

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

