Last Minute Father’s Day Gift Idea (budget friendly of course): water colored succulent planters


So this year my three old has really become her own, independent person. She loves to be the one in charge. So, for Father’s Day I decided to let her develop what she wanted to do for daddy with just a “little” help. The results are this trio of hand-painted, succulent planters that cost me a whopping $2 and took only an hr or two to put together. 

They’re subdued enough to be the perfect touch to any dad’s office or space and are sure to remind him of some littles that really, really love him.

 So here we go. You’ll need:
1. Clay pots. We scored a three pack at the dollar tree.

2. Succulents. We found a four pack for $1 in the clearance section at lowes.

3. Paint (markers, stickers, decals, whatever you have on hand). We just used whatever paint we had on hand.

4. Potting soil for succulents. Again, we just used what we already had on hand.

To Make:

I’m sure you guessed it, just let your kiddos imaginations run wild! I just pulled out old paint, taped down some paper protection on our surface, and let little boss go at it. 


HERE’S A TIP: I created a water colored effect to give the project a little more of a sophisticated feel. I let our little boss create her own design on each pot. Let that dry. And then painted a watered down coat of paint in the same color over the whole pot to give that water color effect. I think it adds a subdued touch keeping the project from  being too much of a whacky, kid crazy, macaroni necklace status project. I pictured this in my husbands office, a professional environment, so it needed to be somewhat subdued but still a sweet reminder for him every day of a little three year old girl who loves him so dearly. 

Plant your succulents and you are done! 

HERE’S A TIP: our pots had small draining holes at the bottom. I did not have time to pack everyone up and go buy something to keep the water from leaking out all over my husbands desk. So, I added some painters tape over the hole on both sides and painted over the tape on the bottom of the pot. Since succulents are best kept damp, this quick fix worked like a charm to keep the dampness in. 

So, what do you think? What Father’s Day gift ideas are you trying out this year? Let me know if you give this one a try. And, if you aren’t already, make sure to subscribe so you’ll get notices of all my new posts right when they happen. I can’t wait to share everything I’ve been working on! Until then, happy Father’s Day! 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

