DIY Jute Bowl for $2

wpid-wp-1427387601614.jpgA few weeks ago Brooke from WhatsupMoms posted a DIY video showing little easter eggs made out of embroidery thread. How cute! (Side note: I will post the video at the end of this post so you can enjoy it as well). I was immediately inspired to create something of my own. So, using the tips Brooke shared in the video and additional tips commenters gave in the comments, I decided to try to make a bowl instead of eggs and I decided to make it out of some left over jute I had instead of string. I just love how it turned out! And even better it cost $2 to make.

To make this you will need:

Small bottle of modge podge. (Dollar tree and dollar section at target both sell these tiny bottles that are PERFECT!)

Roll of jute twine (again, dollar tree has this)

Saran wrap

Old newspaper

Bowl to use to shape your jute bowl

Bowl to mix your modge podge with

Water

To make this you will need to:

1. Mix the small bottle of modge podge with the same amount of water. I just emptied the bottle into a bowl, filled the bottle back up with water, added that to the bowl, and mixed well.

2. Add your jute twine to the modge podge mixture and let it soak for about 10 minutes. I unrolled my jute and added it layer by layer in a circle until about a third of the roll was in. I had to press on it to be sure it was all covered in the modge podge mix. using only a third of the roll ended up being plenty of jute for my bowl and kept me from getting tangles while trying to wrap my bowl.

wpid-20150324_124214.jpg3. While your jute soaks, cover the bowl you want to use to shape your jute thoroughly with saran wrap and flip it upside down on some newspaper. It’s about to get messy.

wpid-20150324_124642.jpg4. Now you can begin wrapping your bowl with the jute. Find the end piece of the jute and place it on the bottom of your bowl. Begin swirling the jute around the bowl in loop like motions being sure that the bowl is covered evenly on all sides. Just go with however the jute wants. It feels messy and at times seems like it wont work but it does. Perfection is not your friend here.

wpid-20150324_124657.jpg

wpid-wp-1427387662760.jpgHERE’S A TIP: you could wrap the jute around the bowl instead of swirling it to create a different look.

5. Once you have your desired coverage, snip the jute you used from the remainder and tuck the end piece away. This is totally up to your discretion and taste preference as to how much jute you want to use to make your bowl.

6. Wait, wait wait. It took mine over 24 hours to dry completely and I had my doubts at first if it would work but it did! I ended up putting mine outside on a warmer day and that helped.

7. Once your jute bowl is dried, remove it slowly and carefully. The saran wrap will still be attached to your jute bowl and that’s okay. I found sticking a butter knife between the bottom bowl and saran wrap helped loosen it up. You can remove the saran wrap once you have the jute bowl removed from the bottom bowl.

8. Clean off the excess modge podge. There will probably be some left over modge podge dried between the different strings. Just clean that excess, dried up modge podge off a bit to give it a cleaner look.

9. Add in your decor items and place your bowl wherever you like. I added in a random, old light bulb, some leftover decor balls I had, and pine cones. Free is best right?

wpid-20150326_102306.jpgwpid-wp-1427380139072.jpgThat is it. So simple right?

What do you think? Let me know how your bowl turns out and don’t forget to check back soon for more DIY ideas…on a budget of course. And, as always, if you enjoy what you are reading then feel free to follow my blog to get all my latest decorating and money-saving ideas and tips.

And, as promised, here is the video. Enjoy!

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “DIY Jute Bowl for $2

  1. […] a budget of course. Some of the textural ideas I had I already blogged about, like my $2 DIY jute bowl or my easy burlap frame. Once I got some texture into the room I turned my eye towards pops of […]

Leave a Reply

