How to get 4x more out of your non-toxic liquid soaps

wpid-20150310_131502.jpgI love knowing that the products I am using for my family are non-toxic. I somehow get a weird sense of satisfaction when I see a non-toxic product being used by my husband or baby. Are you tracking with me or am I completely in left field here? Well, either way, in order for our family to use non-toxic products I have to find ways to make using them affordable. We have a set budget. Those numbers don’t change based on what an item costs or what is good for us. So, I have to find ways to make what I want most fit in the budget. This is why I am so excited to share this super easy tip with you today.

I know most of us have probably seen how to refill old, empty, foam soap dispensers so this idea is not my own, original idea. Although I have seen the idea a few times, I originally saw the idea on this blog. But I have not seen this tip being used by anyone to make non-toxic, liquid soaps more affordable and therefore useable by more people. By using this tip I was able to get my non-toxic, more expensive soaps down to a reasonable cost that fit within our already existing budget and hopefully this tip can help you do the same!

Here is what you will need:

1. Your liquid soap of choice

2. A foaming soap dispenser. You can recycle an old one or find some really cute options here.

3. Water

Once you have all your supplies, you need to:

1. Fill up your foaming soap dispenser 1/4 of the way with your preferred soap.

2. Fill the remainder of the dispenser with water.

3. Shake well.

4. Start using it!

It really is that simple! Here are few examples of soaps I have been able to make last 4x longer on average and the recycled foaming dispenser I use to keep the soap coming.

Using Babyganics bubble bath as a shampoo/body wash in an old babyganics shampoo + body wash foaming dispenser

wpid-20150310_113921.jpgUsing Seventh Generation hand wash in an old Target foaming hand soap dispenser.

wpid-20150310_114040.jpgUsing J.R. Watkins dish soap in an old Babyganics dish soap dispenser.

wpid-20150310_114236.jpgIt really is that simple. If you aren’t doing this yet this can be life changing for your monthly budget.

HERE’S A TIP: In some cases I will label the bottom of the dispenser so I can remember which one is hand soap and which one is baby body wash depending on how clear the actual dispenser is. This prevents you from using harsh dish soap on your baby and risking getting it into baby’s eyes.

What do you think? What liquid soaps have you been able to stretch using this method? Don’t forget to check back soon for more DIY ideas…on a budget of course. And, as always, if you enjoy what you are reading then feel free to follow my blog to get all my latest decorating and money-saving ideas and tips.

Leave a Reply

