Christmas Season is Here…Let the Decorating Begin!

image

It’s Christmas time! Pull out the decor, turn on the music, and let the smell of brewing apple cider fill the house! It’s time to turn our attention to celebrating Christmas!

If I’m honest, I decorated our fireplace the weekend before Thanksgiving.  I know. I know. All the “anti-Christmas before Thanksgiving” people are hissing but don’t stone me. Not yet. I have good reason. I promise. Primarily, Thanksgiving is not at our house this year and we have a first birthday for Baby C to plan. Hopefully you can look past my transgression and enjoy this post anyway.

This year’s theme for Christmas decor is “Christmas on a budget.” I enjoy giving myself a budget and seeing what I can do with it. This year I limited myself to $50 for interior decorations. It’s not a huge amount but it is workable. With that budget, I knew a few things: 1. I would need to repurpose existing decor items; 2. I would need to make some things (DIY projects); 3. Most everything I bought new would need to be at least half off; and 4. In order to get big bang for my buck I would need to cluster the majority of my seasonal decor in one area.

I want to focus on the clustering point for just a moment. Clustering your decor in one main area gives you that wow factor and a focal point. You get a big christmas feel for less money. Perfect for the girl on a budget. For me, I chose the fireplace and set out to dress it up.

Most everything I used was bought on sale, a DIY, or from a past after Christmas sale.  I will go through the decor in smaller, workable groups so you can get ideas for your own decor!

First, we have garland and scented pine cones bought after last Christmas for 50% off at Big Lots. I added that along the fireplace mantle first.

I also made some of those cool mason jar snow globes for the mantle as well. If you haven’t seen what I am talking about check out this tutorial. What did I do differently? Well, I used a glue gun instead of glue dots and some faux snow instead of epsom salt but that’s about it. I love using the fake snow rather than salt because the faux snow sticks to the sides of the jars and gives it more of a “snowy” feel rather than using the salt. Best of all about this entire mason jar project, NO WATER NEEDED. I love that. Means they will last so much longer. A seriously easy and affordable DIY project.

The chalkboard was a DIY from long ago. I use this year round and LOVE it. Interested in making your own? Check out that post here.

imageMoving along, we have a wreath purchased at AC Moore at a 3 for $10 deal. A chalkboard purchased at AC Moore for $1. (Yes, only ONE DOLLAR). I also added a wooden JOY sign purchased from target’s dollar section for $3.00. I added some color to the wreath by using some left over poinsettia’s I picked up from the Dollar Tree for another project. I also added in some candle sticks, 2 for $1, purchased from the Dollar Tree last season as well and also added in more of those scented pine cones.

imageThese wood cut outs may be my favorite part. I LOVE the funky wood cut out shape of these trees. LOVE. Got them for half off at AC Moore, totaling $5.00 each. Again, I also added in a few of those cute mason jar snow globes and topped it all off with an adorable red lantern I picked up at AC Moore for $2.00 and more of those scented pine cones.

image

I also made my own stocking holders by purchasing cheap stocking holder bases from the Dollar tree and gluing on one of those mason jar snow globes onto each. Pretty much love these.

imageMoving on to below the mantle. I added in some yard sale finds from last summer and also re-purposed my basket and blanket that were already by the fireplace by adding in my “Joy” and “Ho Ho Ho” burlap pillows picked up at Target last year for $0.90 each. The pillows were originally $3.00 and were 70% off after Christmas.

imageimageAnd lastly, the tree! This tree was a $10 after Christmas purchase from two years ago. It looks pretty sad just standing alone but when you add in the ornaments, lights, pine cones, holly, and red bows it really looks awesome for a $10 tree! For this year’s tree I wanted to go along with the woodsy theme so I used white, black and silver ornaments. I got all these ornaments for 70% off at Wal Mart’s after Christmas sale two year’s ago. They are plastic and I LOVE that. No mess when one falls. No mess when my puppy nabs one and runs with it. I added in holly leaves left over from my poinsettia flowers from the Dollar Tree to help the tree look fuller. I also helped fill in gaps with my left over, scented pine cones. Lastly, I added in the bows to give the tree a pop of color and topped it all off with my star, purchased at Wal Mart for 70% off two season’s ago. I also added another $1 chalkboard from AC Moore to write the year on it and put it on the tree. This way every Christmas picture in front of the tree has the year on it.

imageI actually just added lights to it yesterday and used two strands of 100 white lights picked up from Lowes for $1.99 each, regularly $2.99 each.

Stockings were after Christmas finds as well with the exception of Baby C’s. Her’s was picked up at Dollar Tree and I thought it so fit the woodsy theme.

imageLastly, I added in some Christmas cheer with left over items all over the book shelves. Here are some ideas on how to spice up what you already have.

imageimageimageimageUsing what I already had, I spent about $35 additional dollars to get this look. What do you think? Worth the money saved or go all out for Christmas next year? Let me know what ideas you come up with for your decor in the comments below.

Working on my porch this week and I can’t wait to share with you all my budget friendly ideas. Don’t forget to check back next week! If you enjoy what you are reading, feel free to follow my blog to get all my latest decorating and money-saving ideas and tips.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Christmas Season is Here…Let the Decorating Begin!

  1. runtspickins says:

    LOVE this! I re-purposed my ornaments last year due to a budget Christmas decor situation and I honestly love them so much! If you want to see them, search “DIY Christmas Ornaments” or something like that on my blog. LOOOVE.
    My Christmas budget decor this year is also very small, but that’s okay! :] I’ll be sure to blog my stuff! :]

  2. I like the clustering suggestion! I should try it! My issue is that I always like bipolar styles! I love the bubblegum retro ornaments with a white tree and colored lights, then I also love the rustic burlap/antlers/woolen tartan plaid look too. Help! Haha

    • I know what you mean! I would do one cluster of each in separate rooms! That way you get the best of both worlds and by clustering you still save some money :). I love different themed rooms and Im thinking you have inspired me for next year to do that! Thanks for taking time to stop by, comment, and inspire me!

Leave a Reply

