DIY Wreath Season: My TOP 5 Favorite Finds to Decorate Your Wreaths on a Budget.

20141110_141737‘Tis the season for wreaths…lots and lots of wreaths. With three big holidays and two seasons spread out in three months, I have a ton of deco mesh wreaths ready to go to add holiday cheer to our front door.  On top of that, I have some made for Christmas gifts. That is a lot of wreaths!

I won’t spend time explaining what most of you what you already know and that is how to create the basic deco mesh wreath. If you don’t know how to make one or want a quick refresher complete with pictures, check out this blog post. If you haven’t tried it, try it! It is so easy!

What I want to share with you today is how to decorate your deco mesh wreath for less. Really, these ideas can be sued for any type of wreath. If you’re like me, when you start out to make a wreath, you usually end up spending way more than you anticipated for decorations to go on the wreath. I ended up having to limit myself just to the dollar store to help curb that spending. Thankfully, I was able to find tons and tons of decorating items for all different themed wreaths all for a dollar or less so I wanted to share some of those with you today.

20141110_141932I recently got my craft on with a friend who was stuck inside for a week after having surgery. She was going stir crazy with nothing to do. So I packed up 4 work wreaths (bought at Dollar Tree!!!!), my mesh rolls (bought for $4.95 each from Wal Mart), and picked up about $25 worth of decorations for the wreaths from the Dollar Tree. I hauled it all to her house, unpacked, and settled in for the day to make some DIY Christmas gifts.

Both of us girls are on a budget and a wreath that worked out to about $10 to make is right up our alleys. We need affordable Christmas gifts people and we achieved it! Today, I want to share some of my favorite dollar store finds so you can have fabulous decor and gifts for less.

My TOP 5 favorite finds are the following:

1. The work wreaths (the wire wreath you attached the mesh to). Those normally run you from about $3 to $6 EACH. I picked up 4 for $4!

2. Big centerpiece options. Centerpieces like a scarecrow, a “hope” sign (pictured on wreath above), or a candy cane duo. Dollar tree has a ton of options when it comes to your “eye catching” piece. I love to add at least one big “eye catcher” per wreath to spice it up.20141107_09480920141110_141924HERE’S A TIP: Think outside the box when looking for decorating pieces for your wreath. The “hope” sign on the wreath pictured above was originally a yard sign. I just broke the stake off and used it as the center of my entire wreath! The scarecrow was originally a door hanger that I re-purposed to be the center of my fall wreath. Use your imagination and the options are endless!

3. The flower options. I am LOVING the burlap poinsettia flowers and, really, all of the Christmas florals available at the Dollar Tree. A bunch of 4 or 5 for $1? Yes please! They make the perfect empty space fillers and really add that holiday cheer.

20141110_1418004. Ornament selection. Ornaments make some of the best filler decorations for Christmas wreaths and the Dollar Tree has aisles of them for cheap. A whole tube of Christmas balls for $1? Why not?

20141110_14180320141110_1419285. Bows, bows, bows. Want to add a bow to your wreath but also want to save time and money? Try using one from Dollar Tree. Just attach and done. $1 and 1 minute. You could even make an entire wreath by covering it with smaller bows. The options are endless while the savings add up.

20141110_141805TOTAL COST: I spent about $50 and had enough supplies to make at least 5 wreaths. So, the wreaths ended up costing about $10 each and took about 1 hr each to make. Not bad when you consider the average deco mesh wreath costs $50. That’s a $40 savings!

Let me know what decorating ideas you come up with in the comments below. If you enjoy what you are reading, feel free to follow the blog to get all my latest decorating and money saving ideas and tips.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

