Baby C’s Room Reveal: Yellow, birds, and gray elephant herds

Room Collage

When Baby Charis was born she was quite a surprise. Coming 11 weeks early, I had nothing but a can of paint in the middle of an empty room that was the would-be nursery. Shortly after baby C’s arrival the grandparents quickly moved into action to execute everything I had dreamed of the nursery being. Gray, accents of yellow, elephants, and a whimsical feel were my design words. My mom was the brains behind the operation and quickly had everyone in motion working on the details of little C’s room.I just love it!

My favorite part of the room is the baby mobile. My mom enlisted the help of my sisters and brother-in-law to cut out and put together this DIY mobile to replicate one I had fallen in love with from here. This was a surprise my mom brought while I was still in the hospital. Such a sweet surprise.

Another one of my favorites is the tree mural with Baby C’s name spelled out. My mom was able to free hand the trunk of the tree with white paint and then use stencils for the leaves. For the name detail, my mom spray painted some wood letters and added a little yellow bow to each before hanging them from the “branches”.

To fill in some of the details, my mom, mother-in-law, and I hit the thrift stores to find the details. We scored the bird house stand for $7. That stand became the inspiration for adding in the birds which I thought filled the whimsical portion of my dream nursery.

We used inexpensive, paper and wood frames spray painted white for the picture bunch above the changing table and little wood cutouts for added bird and bird house details on the walls.

20140731_123914

The furniture was all bought at a great deal as well. The crib is from target and was a gift from my in-laws, the changing table was from a local furniture store for half off, the glider is from amazon for under $100, and the table and shelf were given to us by family.

20140731_12383120140731_123731

I couldn’t help but add in some pink accents. The rest of the blanks were filled in with gifts from friends and family.

I am in love with what everyone was able to pull together and am so grateful for all the hard work that went into preparing little C’s nursery. Hope you’re able to find some inspiration from Little C’s nursery for your little one!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Baby C’s Room Reveal: Yellow, birds, and gray elephant herds

  1. runtspickins says:

    Hey! I nominated you for an award! Check out the details on my blog. :]

    • I know it seems like I have but I promise haven’t forgotten I just don’t know enough blogs to keep the nominations up lol. Once I get through some comments and start following some of the commenters I’ll get to this! Thanks for the nomination! FYI, love that sweet face of your little man. Getting so big so fast!

      • runtspickins says:

        It took me some time to come up with more bloggers as well – that’s why some of them aren’t exactly “new”. But no worries! :]
        And thank you so much! He’s getting too big, too fast. It makes me sad!

  2. cheripiez67 says:

    awesome job

Leave a Reply

