A “Little Man” Themed Sip and See

20130907_141135

One of my dear friends just recently had a baby boy, little Titus. He is about as adorable as a baby should ever be allowed to be. To celebrate Titus and give the community a chance to welcome him into the world, a few friends and I hosted a “sip and see” for Titus and his mommy. For those of you who, like myself, had never heard of a “sip and see” it is essentially a floating party where people can come enjoy light refreshments and celebrate whatever it is we are celebrating which, this time, was little Titus.

My job for this “sip and see” was to head up the decorating. Having grown up in a family with all girls, I was so excited to start dreaming about what decorations I could use to welcome a sweet, little boy into this world. I was immediately obsessed with the idea of using mustaches throughout the theme. So trendy right now and how much more “boy” themed could you get? I cut out a few mustache shapes and glued a corner of each mustache onto cake pop sticks. I decided to display the mustaches in mason jars filled with just plain old dollar tree brown gift filler. I also incorporated the mustaches into mason jars filled with flowers I picked up from the dollar tree to give the flowers a more masculine pop.

20130907_141146

To compliment the mustaches, I also cut out little neck ties out of scrap booking paper. I cut out some neck ties about 8 inches long and attached those to a string of twine with tiny clothes pins. I used them as “banners” one draped over the table and one draped along the edge of the table. I also cut out some neck ties about 2 inches long and attached those to the “necks” of the mason jars to give them just a bit more of a masculine feel.

20130907_141211

20130907_141157

Of course, using a yard of burlap for the table cloth was an easy call laid out over a white table cloth. To add the finishing touch, I bought some small plastic frames, spray painted them white, and inserted scrap booking paper working double time as food labels so all our guests knew exactly what they were eating.

20130907_141152

At the end of the day, everyone got to take a mustache and neck tie home. We even managed to grab a picture of all our guests in their “mustaches” and “neck ties” for a hilarious group shot. What a precious time we had and man was it fun making the decorations for this “sip and see.” I hope you get a chance to try this theme out for the little man in your life! You won’t be disappointed.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

