DIY Front Door Flower Box

DSC_0943

I could start this blog post by telling you all about the busyness of the past few months, explaining my sad lack of blogging but, the truth is, it hasn’t been any busier than normal. Sure, I have tackled some big projects involving some very cool (read: no help from pinterest) DIY ideas, but these time consuming projects involve stage props…not really in line with this blog. So I will spare you the excuses and get to my newest project which is in line with this blog and of which I am so very excited about.

This weekend I was inspired to create something beautiful for my front door. I am in love with the rustic yet romantic interior decorating that is so popular right now (read: Restoration Hardware). Although I do not have a ton of this particular style in my home, I do like to sprinkle it around to add some trendiness to my timeless pieces. My inspiration for this project was a yard of burlap I scored for under $3.00 and this project I stumbled on while reading different blogs a few weekends ago: http://thespacebetweenblog.net/2013/04/08/one-of-the-easiest-pallet-projects-ever/pallet-projects-diy-trough-finished4/

Here’s what I came up with:

DSC_0942

Here’s what you need:

Distressed wood
Miter saw (or hand saw but it takes some elbow grease)
Silver, flat head nails about 1/2″ long
Hammer
Hot glue gun and glue
Burlap
Flowers or greenery

Here’s what you do:

So, using the basic box discussed in the blog post above, I set out to find myself a pallet. A friendly worker at a local home improvement store was more than happy to let us have an old, broken pallet from the back. Most home improvement usually donate their pallets but if it’s in bad enough shape, you may be able to score your own pallet for free as well! I grabbed my pallet, the rest of my supplies, loaded them up and headed home.

The first step is to tear apart the pallet. Using the hammer, a friend and I got to work. We found that hitting the back of the piece of wood we were trying to loosen right near where it was nailed to the pallet worked best. That loosened the wood from the pallet just enough for us to stick the back of the hammer head into the gap we just created and use it like a crow bar to remove the wood the remainder of the way from the pallet. It sounds simple enough but this was the hardest part of the whole project so be prepared.

DSC_0922
If you crack a board or two, no worries. I personally think the crack gives the box even more character.

After removing the boards from the pallet, make your measurements. Each box will need 3 12″ pieces and 2 about 3″ pieces. The 2 3″ pieces will be your end pieces and the exact width you need will vary on the width of the wood you use for the base of your trough, so make sure you keep that in mind and measure those last to make sure they are the exact size you need.

DSC_0924

After you have your measurements marked, cut the wood where marked. I wasn’t too worried about perfect cuts since the imperfection of the look is what I was going for.

DSC_0923

After your pieces are cut, you have the option of sanding the pieces. Your choice, but I opted not to. It was too hot and I was too lazy. After sanding (should you choose to do so) you’re ready to nail your trough together. Lay one 12″ board flat on the ground. Line up another 12″ board, sitting up along the long side of the laying board. Line up the remaining 12″ board standing up along the other side of the laying board. At this point, it should look like a U. Nail the pieces together to hold them into the shape you just made. Lastly, add the 3″ pieces to each short side of the U to close it off. Nail in the short pieces and your trough is done.

DSC_0926

DSC_0925

Now, we begin the decorating part. Make two 48″ long strips and about 3″ wide each of the burlap.

DSC_0947

Lay one strip out and put the other aside for now. Place the bottom of your trough directly in the middle of the strip you have laid out. Once it is centered, Apply a small amount of hot glue to the bottom of your trough to hold the burlap on the box.

DSC_0927

Apply a small amount of glue to each side of the trough to hold the burlap up the sides.

DSC_0931

Tie the top as shown in the picture above, tying it about 3″ down from the end. Next, grab the second strip of burlap you previously laid aside. Out of this strip you will make your bow. Tie your bow, leaving a long amount of the burlap in the tails of the bow like so:

DSC_0935

Apply glue to the middle back of the bow and attach the bow right over the knot you previously tied for the previous strip of burlap.

DSC_0937

DSC_0944

I added some ivy I got on super sale to my trough, leaving it in the plastic containers they came in so that they can retain more water. But, the beauty of this trough is that you can use it for just about anything. Hang your trough on your door or on a wall or set it out on a table or the floor, use it in your bathroom or laundry room. This is such a versatile piece which makes it the perfect, easy, DIY weekend project.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “DIY Front Door Flower Box

  1. […] the “How To” on my blog for the front door flower box, let me make it easy for you: https://trendythrifting.wordpress.com/2013/06/30/diy-front-door-flower-box/. I hate to say you must make one, but I am afraid you will never know how much fun they are if you […]

  2. […] 11. DIY Front Door Flower Box via TRENDY THRIFTING […]

Leave a Reply

