Co-Blog: DIY Card Receptacle

Hey Everyone! I am so excited to have the first of hopefully many to come co-blogs with my mom. What a talented mom I have been blessed with! I have been onto her for months to share with you all some of the fantastic DIY wedding ideas she has come up with. Today, she finally sent me her first completed blog post. Today’s blog will show you how to turn any container into a card receptacle by using an old chest my mom found and used for a friend’s upcoming wedding. Simply choose the container that best matches your wedding theme and follow the steps below to create a fantastic DIY Card Receptacle. FYI:

she also created this bird-cage receptacle which I featured on my blog not too long ago: https://trendythrifting.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/antique-birdcage-makes-a-unique-card-holder-instead-of-a-card-box/.

And without further ado, here is my Mom’s first blog:

I love weddings. I love a wedding with a theme. Long story short, when a friend (Heather) asked me to plan her wedding, I was hooked when she told me her theme. Her wedding ceremony will be on the beach, and her reception will take place on a Steam wheeler. Her idea was to use games at the tables to entertain her guests. Since it was such a playful and interactive idea, I suggested using candy jars as center pieces.

I thought “Sweets and Treats by the Sand and Sea” was a catchy phrase to pull it all together.
With her permission I will be featuring different projects that I have crafted for her big day. Heather’s colors are Capri blue with peach accents and a natural tan to compliment.

For my first project I chose a card receptacle. Scouring swap meets, garage sales, and thrift stores, I chose a beautiful chest I found at the swap meet for $20 to compliment her beach and ship venue. The great thing about this DIY is that you can apply these steps and turn almost any container you want into a card receptacle. Here is what the chest that I chose looked like:

To modify the chest into a card receptacle, I did the following:

1. Take inside measurements of your container. Add an inch and a half on the right and the left side. These sides will eventual become fold down flaps. Also, you will need to add a third fold down flap to the front side. This front flap should equal to the length plus the depth of the chest.

2. Draw your measurements onto a sturdy piece of cardboard. It should resemble the shape of a cross like so:

3. Fold down your flaps (writing out the line first will help make a clean fold).

4. Insert card board piece to test the fit. Make any adjustments needed. The piece should be snug, but not too tight. The top should be flush with the chest.

5. Now make the slit for the cards to go through. Use a straight edge to mark the slit. The slit should be about ¾” wide by about 6”-7”. At this point, the chest looked like this:

6. Use a piece of batting, liner in a cool pattern or color or even spray paint to cover the top of the cardboard. If you choose to use liner, be sure to leave a little extra to go over the edges. For my liner, I chose to use a piece of leaf embossed white sheer liner which I had found at a garage sale for $2. I used spray adhesive to attach the liner that I chose in addition to fabric glue around the outside edges.

HERE’S A TIP: To make the corners around the card hole look seemless, cut the center of the slit to about one inch from each end of the slit and cut diagonal to each of the corners. Fold the material through the hole and glue to the back side. I reinforced this edge with a hot glue gun.

7. For the inside top of the chest, measure the dimensions and make a pattern of its shape with tissue paper. Using your tissue pattern, cut the material and lining leaving a ½” edge for overlap. I sewed the lining and material together around the edges and then straight lines vertically (so the material would not sag). Use spray adhesive on the back and fabric glue around the edges to make a secure hold.

8. Trim the edges with ribbon and piping. I used fabric glue for the delicate ribbon and the hot glue gun for the heavier piping. (If you want your chest to close, be careful to keep your trim inside the chest.)

9. I decorated with appliqués, including a place to insert a sign for cards.

10. The final touch was a cross-stitched “Cards”.

Thanks so much mom for blogging with me. Let us know how your card receptacles turn out!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

