Flowers: Save big and still have the real deal

In the midst of wedding plans, flowers are one expense that can add up quickly and unexpectedly. How much does it cost just to buy a nice bouquet of quality flowers on any given day? Now imagine that you have to buy 10 or 12 of them at one time and they have the label “Wedding Bouquet” attached to them (which almost always means that they will costs even more). Well, if you have been married or are planning a wedding, you don’t have to imagine how expensive that can be because you know all too well!

But I have great news! If you can limit your choices to only a few variations of flowers, you can save tons of money without any sacrifice. Even better news, I researched and chose flowers that were easy to work with so that we could make all the bouquets and arrangements ourselves but that’s another blog for another day. Today, I want to focus on how to save money when selecting your wedding flowers. In the end, we ended up spending about $375 on all the flowers used in the wedding. And boy did we have a lot of flowers in our wedding. Here’s how I did it:

1. Choose 3 or 4 different flowers that you love. I loved calla lilies, dendrobium orchids and white roses.

2. Research the cost of each type of flower. The flowers that are in season will be your best budget bet. Also, I found that buying flowers from local and online wholesale retailers was the best way to get flowers, in bulk, for the least cost. My favorite bulk supplier, surprisingly, was Sam’s Club. You can order an array of flowers from them, in bulk, off of their website for very affordable prices. I bought 140 mini calla lilies from Sam’s for under $200, They were beautiful and perfectly bloomed when they arrived. I also found a local wholesaler who sold dendrobium orchids in bulk so I was able to pick up 100 stems for $130. That same wholesaler also sold yellow calla lilies, large white calla lilies, a beautiful flower I had never seen (It’s the flower pictured on my wedding cake below) and greenery, so I spent my remaining budget (about $50) and grabbed about 12 stems of each flower and one bunch of the greenery.

3. Cut down on the more expensive flowers. I had originally wanted white roses in my wedding. But once I got the pricing info together, I could buy twice the orchids and lilies for almost the same amount it would cost me for half the roses. So I went with more of the orchids and lilies and cut out the roses. I didn’t miss the roses for a second.

4. Practice, practice, practice: For each type of flower I had chosen, we bought a few stems months before the wedding. We wanted to make sure we could work well with the flowers we chose, that they looked perfect with the decor and that the wholesaler we were using would deliver quality flowers. I was more than pleased with what we got months before as well as the day of.

5. Store the flowers until the day of: Have flowers delivered or picked up the day before your wedding. Store them in a room with the AC set as low as possible. If you are in a hotel, ask if they can deliver multiple mini fridges to your room. The key is to keep them as cold as possible to prevent wilting.

6. Enjoy your beautiful and budget friendly flowers for years and years and years! Pictures capture every beautiful angle.

HERE’S A TIP: Here’s another way to save money…White carnation petals look almost identical to white rose petals. I used white carnation petals for my flower girl to throw and no one knew the difference!

Here are a few pictures of the flowers and how we used them:





Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

