Lamp Shade Turned Memory Board

I was rummaging through my closet today when I found my old picture board from high school/college. You know, the board with ribbon criss-crossed just right so that you can insert pictures, ticket stubs and to do lists between the ribbon in a pretty display. I wanted to be able to display some of those same memories, but in a different way. So I took my $1 lamp (yard sale purchase) and a ball of twine ($1 at dollar tree).

I removed the lamp shade and then took the end of the twine and tied it to the inside of the lamp shade like so:

I then began to criss-cross the twine as I wrapped it around the lamp shade. I tried to vary the crisses and crosses so it seemed a little less perfect. I again tied the end piece to the inside of the shade. Here is the product:

What a fun way to display all your memories or stay organized! You could display pictures, train or plane tickets from fun trips, to do lists, etc. The best part is that you can change it up whenever you want!

Leave a Reply

